• Shaw University, located in Raleigh, North Carolina, is the first historically Black institution of higher education in the South and among the oldest in the nation. The University was founded in 1865 by Henry Martin Tupper. Dr. Tupper was a native of Monson, Massachusetts; a Baptist missionary; a Union solider and a graduate of Amherst College and Newton Theological Seminary.

    Led by current President Dr. Tashni-Ann Dubroy, the mission of Shaw University is to advance knowledge, facilitate student learning and achievement, to enhance the spiritual and ethical values of its students and to transform a diverse community of learners into future global leaders. The University currently enrolls more than 1,900 students and offers more than 30 degree programs, including accredited programs in athletic training; kinesiotherapy; social work; divinity; religious education and teacher education.

    Today, Shaw continues to produce outstanding professionals who contribute to the advancement of American society. Our alumni include nationally-recognized teachers; Grammy award-winning singers; judges; doctors; attorneys and even a president of the United Nations General Assembly. Shaw is often called the "Mother of North Carolina HBCUs" as the founder of North Carolina Central University and the first presidents of Elizabeth City State and North Carolina A&T Universities were all Shaw graduates. The third president of Fayetteville State University was also a Shaw graduate.



    Facebook Twitter Google Plus Instagram LinkedIn YouTube Flickr