Shaw University Department of Education

Chair: Dr. Paula Moten-Tolson

Back to Shaw University

Department Home

Chairperson Dr. Paul Moten-Tolson

Faculty and Staff

Graduate Program

Center for Early Childhood Education

Title II, Section 207 of the Higher Education Act

Student Research Guidelines



Mission Statement | Program Learning Outcomes | Departmental Goals

Departmental Mission Statement

The Shaw University Department of Education builds on the knowledge, skills, and values that students acquire through their liberal arts and science foundations.  Candidates graduating from the department will have the specialty area knowledge, professional skills, and experiences that will enable them to function as competent and effective teachers who think critically and demonstrate effective problem-solving skills.

Departmental majors may choose a specific concentration from four different specialty areas.  Each student is encouraged to choose one of the specialty areas listed below by the end of his/her sophomore year.

Birth through Kindergarten Education (B-K)

Elementary Education (K-6)

Graduate students may pursue a Master of Science in Curriculum and Instruction with a concentration in Early Childhood Education.

[The Secondary English Education (9-12) and Secondary Mathematics Education (9-12) programs are housed in the content areas.  The University suspended the Special Education: General Curriculum (K-12) Program, effective in fall 2006.]