Skip Navigation
search icon Open Search Field

Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate is committed to promoting and ensuring the best interests of the faculty in the total dynamics of the Shaw University community. Its primary function is to interpret and recommend policy on all University affairs of direct concern to the faculty of the University. In this capacity, it will involve itself in the following matters: 

  • faculty recruitment and selection procedures;
  • faculty organization;
  • professional growth of the faculty;
  • faculty financial security and tenure;
  • faculty teaching loads;
  • faculty promotions, salaries, and other forms of recognition;
  • academic freedom;
  • establishing criteria and procedures for faculty evaluation; and
  • effecting good relationship with the faculty, administration, and public as appropriate. 

Download By-Laws/Constitution

Current Senators

Senator’s NAME  Department Represented Office Location: Building, Floor, Room # Email Address Phone
Levi Beckwith Business & Public Administration Talbert O Shaw Women’s Dorm, Room A104 lbeckwith@shawu.edu  919-545-8498
Charles V. Brown Visual and Performing Arts Fleming Key Dormitory (Basement) cbrown@shawu.edu 
919-546-8411
Lillian Cummings, Ph.D. Natural & Mathematical Sciences Roberts Science Building, Rm 319 lillianc@shawu.edu
919-546-8396  
Kenneth Hinton Visual and Performing Arts 222 Lenoir St., Shaw Villas khinton@shawu.edu 
919-546-8419
James Arthur Holmes, Th.D. Divinity School Leonard Hall, Room  205B jholmes@shawu.edu
919-546-8576
Cheryl Kirk-Duggan, Ph.D. Divinity School Leonard Hall, 1st Floor, Room 107 cduggan@shawu.edu
919-716-5522
Timothy Marriott, Vice President of Senate  Health and P.E.   tmarriott@shawu.edu
919-546-8394
Andrew Mbuvi, Ph.D. Divinity School High Point , #141, Phone Extension # 6603 ambuvi@shawu.edu 
336-886-4974
Anozie Nebolisa, Ed.D. Computer Information Sciences New Addition, Science Building, Room 121 anebolisa@shawu.edu
919-546-8378
Bobby Sanders, President
Faculty Senate 
 
Athletics Core Studies Building, Room 18 bsanders@shawu.edu
919-546-8278
Anthoni Wedderburn Athletic Training   awedderburn@shawu.edu
919-719-1992
Khodr Zaarour Social Sciences TOS, Room 103 kzaarour@shawu.edu
919-546-8381