Skip Navigation
search icon Open Search Field
table-top-left  arrow     123 



Shaw’s Asberry, Atkins Earn CIAA Pigskin Club Honors Asberry Named CIAA Coach of Year; Atkins Named Player of the Year





Washington, DC (January 19, 2011) – The Pigskin Club of Washington, DC, has named Shaw’s Darrell Asberry its CIAA Coach of the Year, and quarterback Kevin Atkins its CIAA Player of the Year.  Both will be honored at the Pigskin Club’s 73rd Annual Awards Banquet on February 11 in Washington, DC.

As the Pigskin Club’s pick as CIAA Coach of the Year, Asberry will be presented with the W. Henry “Stud” Greene award.  Asberry led the Bears to a 9-3 record, including a 7-0 run in the CIAA and the CIAA Football Championship.  The Bears advanced to the NCAA Playoffs, but were knocked out in the first round by Shepherd.

In Asberry’s five years as Head Coach, the Bears have amassed a 36-19 record and won three CIAA Championships.

As the Pigskin Club’s pick as CIAA Player of the Year, Kevin Atkins (Sr., 6-1, 195, QB, Durham, NC) will be presented with the James Guy “Pete” Tyson Award.  Atkins was 134 for 258 (51.9 percent) on the season with 19 touchdown passes to only eight interceptions.  He averaged 160.4 yards per game passing.

Each year, the Pigskin Club honors athletes and coaches of HBCUs, including recognizing a National Black College Champion, as well as a Coach and Player of the Year from the four HBCU conferences (CIAA, MEAC, SIAC, and SWAC).   This year’s banquet will be held Friday, February 11 at 7:00 p.m. at the Capital Hilton Hotel in Washington, DC.  For more information on the Pigskin Club, go to 

For information on Shaw athletics, go to 



Shaw University was founded in 1865 and is the oldest historically black university in the south. Shaw University is a private, co-educational liberal arts University, that awards degrees at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. The primary mission of Shaw University is teaching with the commitment to maintain excellence in research and academic programs that foster intellectual enhancement and technological skills. The Shaw University athletic department has a long history of success, including back-to-back CIAA Football Championships (2007 and 2008), four straight women’s basketball championships (2002/03 – 2005/06), the reigning six-time men’s tennis champions, the reigning two-time women’s tennis champions, and the 2010 football champions. 










table-bottom-left  table-bottom-bg  table-bottom-right