Skip Navigation
search icon Open Search Field
Tupper Hall and Estey Hall

National Parks Service Awards Shaw $480K Grant

Shaw University is the proud recipient of a grant from the National Parks Service to preserve buildings on the historic campus. Shaw will receive more than $480,000 to preserve Tupper Memorial Hall and Estey Hall within Raleigh's East Raleigh-South Park Historic District.

"We are so excited to have the preservation funds to do much-needed rehabilitation to the building on our campus that bears the name of our Founder, Henry Martin Tupper and to preserve our iconic Estey Hall," said Interim President Dr. Paulette Dillard.

The money is part of an $8.6 million preservation grant, from the National Parks Service, to assist 18 historically black colleges and universities preserve historic buildings. Funding for the HBCU grant program is appropriated by Congress through the Historic Preservation Fund. The Fund uses revenue from federal oil leases on the Outer Continental Shelf and not from taxpayer funds.

Other HBCUs that will receive money from the grant are:

  • Philander Smith College
  • Howard University
  • Delaware State University
  • Clark Atlanta University
  • Fort Valley State University
  • Harris-Stowe State University
  • Tougaloo College
  • Johnson C. Smith University
  • Livingstone College
  • Saint Augustine University
  • South Carolina State University
  • Voorhees College, State of South Carolina
  • Benedict College
  • Virginia Union University
  • Hampton University
  • Virginia State University
  • Virginia State University
  • Virginia University of Lynchburg